October 8th, 2021 – Today, tournament organizers unveiled the official schedule for the Fireminds Rugby Americas North Sevens 2021 in Turks and Caicos on October 16-17.

The event, which is taking place at Meridian Fields in Providenciales, marks the return of international rugby to the Caribbean for the time since the COVID-19 global pandemic began in 2020 and also acts as a qualifier for next year’s World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series.

Due to unforeseen circumstances, Dominican Republic has announced their team will no longer take part in the fixture. The tournament will now be comprised of nine competing nations.

Day one of the tournament on Saturday, October 16 will see each country play against their respective pool opponents.

Pool A – Jamaica, British Virgin Islands, Turks and Caicos
Pool B – Mexico, Barbados, Curaçao
Pool C – Guyana, Bermuda, Belize

After day one, the top two teams from each pool will advance to the Cup competition while the bottom team will play for the Plate on day two.

Fireminds RAN 7s 2021

For the Cup competition, the six nations that advance will be re-seeded into two pools of three and play against each of their pool opponents in their first two games on Sunday, October 17th. After those two rounds, the top seeded nation in each pool will advance to the Cup Final, while the two second place teams will play for bronze and the two third place teams will play in the 5th/6th place match.

Pool 1Pool 2
Winner Pool AWinner Pool B
RU Pool BWinner Pool C
RU Pool CRU Pool A

In the Plate competition, the three teams will play a round-robin series on Sunday in their first two games and then the top two teams will play for the Plate Final at the end of the day.

Fireminds RAN 7s 2021

The entire tournament will be streamed live at www.rugbyamericasnorth.com with analysis, photos, videos and other content from the event provided on Rugby Americas North’s website and social media pages.