Chile won over Colombia in the opening game of the first edition of the Americas Rugby Challenge U20 by a score of 44-10, held at the Hèroes de Curupayty Stadium of the Rugby Union of Paraguay.

The Trans-Andean team quickly opened the scoreboard with Luca Strabucci touching down for the opening try 5-0, in the 2nd minute of play without conversion.

Lukas Carvallo and Benjamín Goñi scored two more tries, the latter converted by Luca Sandoval, to bring the score in favor of Chile 17 to 0.

At the 32ndminute of the first half, Jorge Gamboa de los Tucanes scored a try without conversion and went to the locker room with a 17 to 5 lead.

In the beginning of the second half, after a penalty converted by Luca Sandoval, Chile scored three more points, pushing the score to 20 to 5 and then at four minutes of the second half again Lukas Carvallo scored another try, advancing the score to 25 to 5.

In a very disputed match at the breakdown, where The Condors knew how to take advantage of their sleight of hand to impose themselves on the Colombian brand, came the tries of Benjamín Goñi (converted by Carvallo), try and conversion of Lukas Carvallo and try of Joaquín Milesi without converting, achieving an impressive 44 to 5 lead.

Colombia would score one more unconverted try at the end of the game, which left the final score 44 – 10.

Colombia Roster:

Sebastián Lora, Pablo Llanos, Michael Díaz, Juan Aguirre, Jorge Gamboa, Juan Ruíz, David Mosquera, Andrés Vanegas, Luis Gonzales, Daniel Villa, Alejandro Guisao, Juan Taborda, Alvaro Gamarra, Sebastián Urrego, Daniel Posada

Second Time Changes: (21´) Yoimar Mosquera enters for Jorge Gamboa, (24´) enters Angel Mosquera for Juan Ruíz, (25 ’) enters Rafael López for Daniel Villa.

Chile Roster:

Rufino Acosta, Diego Escobar, Jorge Araya, Santiago Pedrero, Agustin Fernández, Joaquín Vidal, Hernesto Tchimino, Joaquin Milesi, Lukas Carvallo, Renan Salas, Benjamin Goñi, Matias Garafulic, Clemente Armstrong, Luca Strabucci, Luca Sandoval.

Second Half (5 ’) Esteban Barra enters for Diego Escobar, (8’) Aquino Alonso enters for Jorge Araya, (22 ’) enters Agustin Fernández and Lukas Carvallo for Luca Sandoval and Guillermo Vatter respectively.