Photo by USA Rugby / Matías Matus Acebo

SANTIAGO, CHILE – After an exciting two days of sevens rugby, three Rugby Americas North (RAN) countries collected medals on the 2023 Panam Games podium in Chile. The USA Women picked up gold after a victory over Canada, making it their first-ever multi-sport gold medal at a Team USA event and USA’s first rugby gold medal at a global multi-sport event since the 1924 Olympics USA Men’s 15s team. Canada Women earned silver, while Canada’s Men bounced back from a day one loss to USA in the Bronze Final to pick up third and leave USA Men off the podium altogether. Jamaica Women also made a historic stride at the event with their 24-21 win over Paraguay – their first-ever win over opposition based outside of the RAN region. In their last meeting in August, the Mexico Men overcame regional rivals, Jamaica, to qualify for the Olympic repechage event set to take place in 2024. But the Crocs edged out the Serpientes this time around 26-24 to finish on a high note. As for Mexico, long-time national team member Alejandro Chavez played in his final event for his country. Chavez debuted for Mexico in 2006, earning 34 caps since then and ends his international career at his third Panama Games this past weekend.

International sevens will resume in December as the revamped model of the HSBC SVNS series kicks off in Dubai.

2023 Rugby Sevens Panams Games Results:


v Brazil, 22-12 W
v Mexico, 42-5 W
v USA, 19-5 L

Semifinal v Argentina, 21-7 L
Bronze Final v USA, 19-17 W



v Chile, 41-0 W
v Mexico, 69-0 W
v Brazil, 29-21 W

Semifinal v Colombia, 45-14 W
Gold Final v USA, 19-12 L


v Argentina, 40-7 L
v Uruguay, 41-0 L
v Chile, 27-12 L

v Brazil, 14-27 L
7th/8th v Mexico, 24-26 W


v USA, 44-0 L
v Paraguay, 24-21 W
v Colombia, 26-14 L

v Mexico, 14-19 L
7th/8th v Chile, 5-34 L


v USA, 48-7 L
v Canada, 42-5 L
v Brazil, 29-0 L

v Brazil, 27-14 L
7th/8th v Jamaica, 24-26 L


v Brazil, 47-0 L
v Canada, 69-0 L
v Chile, 27-5 L

v Jamaica, 14-19 W
5th/6th v Paraguay, 12-16 L


v Mexico, 47-0 W
v Brazil, 17-5 W
v Canada, 19-5 W

Semifinal v Chile, 15-12 L
Bronze Final v USA, 19-17 L


v Jamaica, 44-0 W
v Colombia, 33-0 W
v Paraguay, 39-0 W

Semifinal v Brazil, 45-14 W
Gold Final v Canada, 19-12 W