2017 RAN Sevens Pools Announced

Pools and playing format have been announced for the 2017 Rugby Americas North Sevens happening in Mexico City on November 25th and 26th. Ten men’s teams and seven women’s teams will compete in the two-day tournament. Final schedules will be announced shortly.

Men’s (10):
Dominican Republic
British Virgin Islands
Trinidad & Tobago

Women’s (7):
Dominican Republic
Trinidad & Tobago
French Guyana

The men’s competition on day 1 will be a pool round robin, with seedings based on the 2016 standings. On day 1 the top two teams in each pool go through to play off in two further pools and the remaining four teams will play off in a separate round robin tournament as follows:

Cup Round Robin Phase (2 matches each per team)
Pool 1 Pool 2
1st Pool A 1st Pool B
2nd Pool C 1st Pool C
2nd Pool B 2 nd Pool A

Final: Winner Pool 1 v Winner Pool 2
3rd / 4th Match: Runner up Pool 1 v Runner up Pool 2
5th / 6th Match: 3rd Pool 1 v 3rd Pool 2

Plate Round Robin Tournament:
3rd Pool A, 3rd Pool B, 3rd Pool C and 4th Pool C

The above format allows for 6 teams after day 1 to be in contention to win the tournament and qualify for CASCO Games 2018.

On the women’s side, a round robin tournament over two days will take place, where every team will play each other (3 matches each day per team) and final positions will be based on final standings in the group. Women’s teams include Jamaica, Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago, Guyana, Bermuda, Dominican Republic and
French Guyana.

All matches will be streamed live and fans can follow the action on social media using the hashtag #RAN7s.

  • […] Rugby Americas North (RAN) has announced the pools for the upcoming regional 7’s tournament in…. The two-day event will take place on November 25-26. Taking part are to be ten men’s teams and seven women’s teams. […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *